Banana Cupcakes with Cream-Cheese Frosting

2 Mar

I had such a great day today. It seems to happen more and more that I go home after school in a wonderful mood- happy, relaxed, and not at all prone to lashing out at the next person (usually my mom) who “bothers” me. Strangely enough, it happens a lot when I’m somewhat sleep-deprived- but only when I voluntarily decide to sleep less than usual or get up in the middle of the night to gape at the rainstorm raging outside. That part’s important. If I’m up late writing a paper or doing a project because I have to, you can expect me to be grumpy and bleary-eyed (as my sister calls it: dopey-looking) the next day.

Today though, everything just seemed to go so well. Everyone seemed extra-friendly today, my english teacher gave us a free period to do homework, and my french teacher forgot to prepare the quizzes he fires at us on a weekly basis. I presented a project in french class about Les Restaurants Extraordinaires, and I think I did just fine. My teacher even wanted a copy of my powerpoint presentation! I think it was because he wanted an example to keep, but it may have just been that he suddenly decided from now on he’s going to grade the powerpoint. Either way, I choose to take it as a compliment. Which is huge, coming from him. He’s really tough, but he’s one of my best teachers. It bodes well since by next year I’ll have had him for three years of french. I made these cupcakes for my class (any excuse to bring in food, right?) but I tried one the night before and it just didn’t seem that great. May have been because I was just in one of those meh-nothing-tastes-that-good kind of moods. It happens. But either they were good, or everyone was just lying about liking them. At least they looked good. They caught every teacher’s eye as I whisked them into the faculty lounge fridge.

Banana Cupcakes with Cream-Cheese Frosting

(adapted from MyRecipes.com)

Makes 18 cupcakes (or an 8 in square pan) and just enough frosting

As with most banana “cakes”, these were a little dense. I’ve yet to find a nice, light-crumbed banana cake. Let me know if you do.

Cake:
2 cups flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
4 tbsp butter, at room temperature
2 tbsp plus 1 tsp canola oil
3/4 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
4 ripe bananas
1/4 cup milk

Frosting:
4-5 ounces (about 115-150g) cream cheese, at room temperature (low-fat is fine)
4 tbsp butter, at room temperature
1 1/2 cups confectioners’ (powdered) sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

For cake:
Preheat oven to 375F/190C. Mix flour, baking powder, and salt in a small bowl. Beat butter, oil, and sugar in a larger bowl. Beat in eggs and vanilla. Mash the bananas with the milk (in yet another bowl). Fold half the dry ingredients into the wet mixture. Fold in bananas, then rest of dry ingredients. Bake about 20-30 minutes for cupcakes (check on them!) or 40-45 minutes for cake.

For frosting:
Cream butter and cream cheese together until smooth. Beat in vanilla then sugar. Taste. Add sugar if necessary. (I like my cream cheese frosting with a little bit of the tartness still there). Spread or pipe (stuff into a ziploc bag and cut off a tiny bit of a corner) on cooled cake(s).

Devour.

Or if you’re storing some away, keep it in the fridge. The frosting tends to turn droopy when its warm, and leaving cheese-based stuff out for too long isn’t such a great idea anyways.

One Response to “Banana Cupcakes with Cream-Cheese Frosting”

  1. lavienouveau June 14, 2010 at 11:11 am #

    ooo these look yummy!

Leave a Reply

