More San Francisco Food: Cheap eats and sweet treats

8 Aug

Excuse the corny title- I couldn’t resist.

Although I’ve lived in the U.S. all my life, living in Dubai has made visiting the States seem like much more of a vacation in different cultural environment. I’ve been rediscovering all of the nice things about America (excuse the overgeneralizations that are to come) that I never used to notice. The way that everything outside just seems so much more…I don’t know- alive. Everything is green. You can just stroll along the road on the sidewalk (Dubai is mostly highways). And best of all, it’s not that hard to find good food. Specifically, affordable good food. I was surprised to find that the majority of food I ate was quite satisfying, and some I wouldn’t mind eating again and again. I actually did eat some again and again, namely the sandwiches from Sweet Joanna’s (next door to the Folger Building) and from La Baguette (the BEST French baguette sandwiches I’ve had to date).

I also loved going to the farmers’ market up by the Ferry Terminal Building. I could never tire of farmers’ markets. There’s something about walking around outside, in the fresh air, while you peruse the various food stands, admire the colors of the fresh produce, maybe sample a cut of that impossibly sweet, juicy peach, and just drink in all the noise and smells and action all around. One day I was in a terrible mood- I was sick, tired, grumpy, and I just wanted to curl up in bed. When our lunch break came around, I went, alone, to the farmers’ market. I ate a little of this, a little of that. A ripe, juicy peach, a sausage, a whiskey-glazed pecan scone. It was just what I needed. I returned to class completely transformed, overflowing with energy and contentment (it may have had something to do with that whiskey scone…).

Leave a Reply

